UKActive Finalists

Success as Active Essex get shortlisted for 3 national Awards

Active Essex

National recognition received as Active Essex’s Chair, Director and Essex Pedal Power programme receives a shortlist at the UKActive 2023 Awards.

The UKActive Awards are the largest and most prestigious accolades of their kind and are designed to recognise and celebrate excellence and innovation across health, wellbeing and fitness in the UK. With 13 categories up for nomination, Active Essex has excelled in being shortlisted for three.  The awards ceremony will take place in Leeds at the end of October.

Jason Fergus, Active Essex Director, has been revealed as one of the Outstanding Leadership Finalists, with this category being up for public vote. Read about Jason’s entry and cast your vote with ease, on the UKActive website today.

In addition, Dr William Bird MBE, is shortlisted for the Jan Spaticchia Special Recognition Award. William is one of the most eminent pioneers and experts on physical activity in the UK. He is the Founder and CEO of Intelligent Health, Chair of Active Essex, and has been a practising GP for over 30 years.

Essex Pedal Power, one of the flagship programmes of the Active Essex Local Delivery Pilot, has been shortlisted for the Innovation Award. The scheme has been providing free bikes to residents in the county’s most disadvantaged communities, to significantly increase cycling, active travel and physical activity levels, for 2 years. Initially piloted in Clacton and Jaywick, two of Essex’s most deprived areas, over 800 of the initial 1200 bikes have been given out. This innovative scheme is now being rolled out in three other deprived areas– Basildon, Harwich, and Colchester – with funding secured to provide a further 2,425 bikes.

Georgie Poole, Head of Marketing and Events at ukactive, said: “It’s been an exceptionally competitive year of entries into our awards and we’ve seen some exceptional stories and nominations, so a huge congratulations to this year’s finalists.”

If you’d like to vote for Jason Fergus as winner of the Outstanding Leadership Award, click here. Voting closes on 22nd September 2023.